Your *Worst* Worst Case Scenario Guide and a Banana Cream Pi Lassi to Make it All Better

Rating: Orange

“Meet Pi Patel, a young man on the cusp of adulthood when fate steps in and hastens his lessons in maturity. En route with his family from their home in India to Canada, their cargo ship sinks, and Pi finds himself adrift in a lifeboat — alone, save for a few surviving animals, some of the very same animals Pi’s zookeeper father warned him would tear him to pieces if they got a chance. But Pi’s seafaring journey is about much more than a struggle for survival. It becomes a test of everything he’s learned — about both man and beast, their creator, and the nature of truth itself.” -Goodreads.com

************************************************************************************

Last week was a rough week.  The week after a vacation always seems particularly long and, to top it off, I wasn’t feeling well at all. 

After I read Yann Martel’s Life of Pi this weekend, I suddenly realize how little I have to complain about.  I live on solid land, eat three regular meals a day, don’t generally worry about becoming lunch for carnivorous animals, have a full and wonderful family, and interact with a number of people daily.

When I look at Pi, stuck out on a lifeboat with a tiger for 226 days, I wonder how long I would last.  As he finds a way to survive aboard this nightmarish raft, he ponders on his will to survive, coming to the conclusion that he has an exceptionally strong life force.

I wonder how long the average person would survive in the same situation.  Many of us would be quick to claim, “I would be tiger meat in 2 hours or less!”  Is that really true?  Would we, like Pi, find a way to deal?  I suppose we will never know the strength of our spirit until put to a similar test.

Without further ado, I brainstormed and came up with the four worst case scenarios for me.  They are present in the poll below.  Which one would be the test that tells you what you are made of?  OR can you think of something worse?  If so, put it in the comments!

One more question.  While Pi was stuck on his boat, one of the objects he yearned for most was a book.  He mentioned that if he had a choice, he would choose a spiritual text or a long adventure novel.  What book would you want with you on this journey? 

Banana Cream Pi Lassi

This drink is derived from a few key elements of the book.  First of all, near the beginning, Pi fails to drag a bundle of bananas into the lifeboat, a nonaction that he regrets throughout his journey.  He dreams of bananas and wishes that he could get his hands on one. 

He is Indian and many of his food dreams involve Indian food.  A Lassi is a traditional Indian drink that consists of blended yogurt, cardamon, and fruit (at least that is my impression.  Feel free to school me in the comments). 

His name is Pi.  I love plays on words.  Ergo, Banana Cream Pi Lassi.  Yay!

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt (I used Greek yogurt)
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1/4 cup light coconut milk
  • 1 tsp cardamon (or cinnamon)
  • 1 sheet of honey graham crackers (for the crust!)
  • 1/4 cup ice

Procedure:

  • Put everything into the blender.
  • Blend until it seems completely smooth.
  • Debate about whether or not to put a straw in.  I like straws so in it goes!
  • Drink up and feel grateful that you are not languishing on a lifeboat…with a tiger. 
7 thoughts on “Your *Worst* Worst Case Scenario Guide and a Banana Cream Pi Lassi to Make it All Better

  1. I love this book SO much! I read it in middle school and fell in love with it. I don’t even know how many times I’ve re-read it. Such a great story with an amazing twist at the end.

  2. I really liked this book. My then-17-year-old daughter and I listened to it together. She thinks the tiger is a metaphor for cannibalism. What do you think?

    1. I’m not sure! I admit that the ending twist threw me for a loop. I think that the tiger might represent more than just cannibalism. It is the primal side of human nature that many of us tend to supress (or may never need). Or, maybe it is just a tiger.

  3. Okay, I wander along here and find you first with a tribute to UP, then to my favourite book.
    You… keep writing things. Write more. I’ll enjoy reading.

Leave a Reply

