Because Books Deserve Awards Shows Too…

You see this cookie?  Yeah, that one.  The one right under this sentence.  It’s a winner.

This baby is a dark chocolate pistachio oatmeal cookie. Somehow, I managed to squeeze three of my very favorite things into one cookie.  To make it even better, it has elements of green in it!  This is a way to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day all year!

Let me cut to the chase.  I’m not here to talk about cookies.  I mean, they’re delicious, but no, I’m here to tell you about The Bookworms.

(If you want the recipe for cookie- you know you do- look at the bottom of this post.)

You see, I was thinking about it and I realized that even though I devoted so much time to preparing for the Oscars, I will never be able to devote that kind of time to a mass-marketed, televised literaturapoolooza.   The sad truth is the Oscars get viewers because people have seen the movies. Many people have not read the books.  **hangs head in complete and utter devastation**

I decided to do us book lovers a favor then and I am taking a stand!  We not be able to have James Franco announce the winners, but The Very Hungry Bookworm would love to host The Bookworms!

Here is how it is going to work.

  1. Every Friday, I will announce the category for the following week.
  2. Sometime over that next week, you let me know who/what you think should win the category.  You can do this in a number of ways.  Post a comment.  Email me.  Write a blog post of your own.
  3. The following Friday, I will round-up any responses that I received and link to any blog posts you have sent to reveal the nominations and the **Drumroll please** winner!
  4. The lucky winner will receive the satisfaction of a job well done and a virtual golden bookworm-shaped statue called a  Bookworm.  Pretty sweet deal man.

In this way, my fine people, we become the Academy.  After all, we readers are the experts right?

So, without further ado, I announce the first category:

Character You Would Least Like to Come to Life

Happy voting!

Read on for the winning cookie recipe…

Dark Chocolate Pistachio Oatmeal Delights

Inspired by this recipe over at SimplyRecipes

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 1 cup of dark brown sugar, packed
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons of milk
  • 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 cups of flour
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon of kosher salt (regular salt will suffice)
  • 1 cup of rolled oats
  • 1 cup of coarsely chopped pistachios, raw and unsalted
  • 1 1/2 cups of semisweet chocolate chips
Procedure: 
  •  Preheat the oven to 350 F. Cream the butter and sugars together on high speed for three minutes.
  • Add the eggs, milk, and vanilla and beat for 3 minutes, being sure to scrape down the sides of the bowl to ensure even mixing.
  • In a separate bowl combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and rolled oats. Add the dry ingredients to the butter mixture slowly, being sure to scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl once or twice to ensure even mixing.  If you add it too fast, bad things happen to everything immediately surrounding your mixer.  Take my word on it.  
  • Fold in the pistachios and chocolate chips. Drop heaping teaspoonfuls onto parchment lined or sprayed cookie sheets.
  • Bake for 10-11 minutes or until golden brown. Start checking around 8 minutes to make sure that you don’t burn these babies.
  • Allow to set up on the cookie sheets before moving to a baking rack to cool completely.

The entire recipe makes about 6 dozen.  I halved the recipe and then put half of that into my freezer, meaning that I get these sometime in the near future without all of the fuss!

12 thoughts on “Because Books Deserve Awards Shows Too…

    1. Oh wow, so far I hadn’t thought of any of your suggestions! I had someone very different in mind…

  1. I’m new, just ran into your blog. I’d like to participate, if I may. The creepiest book I’ve ever read was _The Collector_ by John Fowles. My almost equally creepy English teacher made it required reading. So my vote goes to Frederick Clegg, collector of dead butterflies and girls. I really can’t recommend the book though.

Leave a Reply

